Yes.  The bottom area of the screen, called the Ticker, displays short text messages, each on screen for 10 seconds.  While all other areas of the screen update every 20 minutes, the Ticker checks for new messages every 30 seconds. This makes it a perfect area to update your patients if a provider is running behind.